The Balanced Soul

Your Soul's Place to find Its Way

Goddess Pages: High Priestess

10 Comments

Namaste Dear Friends!

Here’s an offering of another face of Her, for you to reflect with, yearn for, and emulate! First, though, for those of you who are comfortable in a less “God(dess) with faces” vein, I wanted to take a moment to tell you, in case you didn’t know: I have the utmost respect for you and your Journey.  I come from a traditional Judeo-Christian household, and I grew up shunning the idea that Divinity could have a name outside of God, or a face or image associated with it.  It used to really scare me…and then my grandpa, one of the smartest people I will ever know, told me, “God is the job description,” opening up the idea that maybe NO name, not even “God” could identify the Thing That Makes Me Exist. If that idea had come from outside of my family, my cultural roots, I would have been more hesitant to entertain it, but since my grandpa was on the highest pedestal a teenager can muster, I dove in.

I came to understand that NO MATTER WHAT we call it, it’s the same.  So I decided to start loving, and learning, about all the names, all the languages, all the ways of relating to and worshiping…whatever I could get my hands on, I said YES to.  I don’t identify with all the faces, but I do believe that we all have the right to choose our face, our language, and how we go about practicing.  As long as it doesn’t hurt anyone else, I say Yes.  And if you say No to this Goddess Idea, then that’s good, too…just please reserve that harsh judgement voice about what I think of You.  I happen to love you. 

And now, without further ado!!!

The High Priestess

The priestess is a direct representative of the Goddess on earth.  Traditionally, priestesses were given responsibility for various life cycle occurrences as they relate to the earth’s seasons and cycles: ensuring rain, fertility of animals and people, honoring death and mourning rituals, et cetera.

The High Priestess is considered an embodiment of the Great Goddess Herself, a universal figure found worldwide: Isis in Egypt, Kuan Yin throughout Asia, Athena in Greece, Rhiannon in Celtic traditions (to name a few).  She is all-knowing, all-wise, is the source of creation and bestows Water especially: Life-Giving waters.  She ushers people through Death’s Door when the moment is right for them, ensuring that their Divine Spark continues on its Journey.

The High Priestess is a reminder of the Innate Wisdom and capacity to emulate the Goddess that we all possess.  She’s also a reminder that NOW is the moment to connect with the Divinity within.  Women’s wisdom is about introspection, cultivating connection with Source so that you can serve out of your Own Intuition and Source, rather than ego, fear, or reaction.

To cultivate a connection with the High Priestess:

AFFIRM: The Divinity I seek is Within Me.  I Open MySelf to that Right Now.  Let the sense of this Truth filter into your body, mind, and spirit. Sit for a few moments with it.

Then find an image or simply light a candle.  Any image: your grandmother or mother, Mary, Miriam, Gaia…a flower, something Beautiful!! You can even use an image of a God or male in your life, because ultimately, it’s all the same.  The doorway in doesn’t matter.

Gaze Lovingly at the image, or close your eyes and visualize the person, Light, Beauty, or deity with you.  Feel the presence of this Personification, and allow the qualities of Patience, Compassion, Unconditional Love, Healing, and Wisdom to pour into you, from Her/It.

Offer your prayers:  ask for guidance, help in cultivating and emulating certain qualities.  First ask for what YOU need, then offer prayers for others, in widening circles, eventually encompassing the entire Universe.  Ask that we all receive Her Blessings.

Finish by basking in the Glow of Her for a few moments, and then bowing your head in gratitude, knowing your Prayers are Heard.

I love wearing beautiful jewelry, a bit of perfume (natural oils, of course), or taking extra time to rub coconut oil on my skin, or take a bath.  All pampering “indulgences” can be turned in to a form of Prayer, a form of Honoring the Divine within YOU!!  How wonderful, to be given license to enjoy your Life!

Blessings and Light, may the Opening be full of Ease

R

Author: robindrury

Dr. Robin is a chiropractor in Leominster, Massachusetts. She practices Applied Kinesiology, and helps people who want more health and vitality than they currently are living with. Go to RTWChiropractic.co for more information!

10 thoughts on “Goddess Pages: High Priestess

  1. “I came to understand that NO MATTER WHAT we call it, it’s the same. ” ♥

  2. I loved Your Articles…..Great Blog….Yes! We are all same! Love & Light….

  3. Pingback: Who has your power? « renplus

  4. Pingback: Journey Journal: Focus, Dilation and the Priestess | Lifencompass

  5. The High Priestess is my Soul Card. She knows everything!

  6. Pingback: The Goddess Pages: Mama Mary « The Balanced Soul

  7. Pingback: ~ The Goddess Pages ~ Mama Mary | Global Light Minds

  8. “God is the job description” love it! I feel the same way…what we call “IT” is just semantics. How we “feel” IT is what matters. Loving you blog…
    with love light and JOY

Leave a Reply

