The Balanced Soul

Your Soul's Place to find Its Way

The Goddess Pages: Mama Mary

3 Comments

In Sue Monk Kidd‘s latest travel memoir, Traveling with Pomegranates, she talks about her own spiritual journey and her relationship with the Divine Feminine.  The story echoes and parallels the Demeter/Persephone myth, and is a lovely little piece of literature about the evolution of the Mother/Daughter relationship over time.

c. 1437-1446

c. 1437-1446 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

At several points, each woman talks about her Holy Trinity…and how this Trinity evolved as her faith and journey carried her deeper into Self.  Mother Mary was a central figure for Sue, and how she explained and examined her relationship with Mary, I became intrigued and more excited about my own relationship with Mama Mary.

I grew up in a Jewish home.  I LOVE and deeply respect the People I emerge from.  I also respect that I am another point on the evolutionary chain.  I am here to INTEGRATE the lessons and burdens of my People, my Culture, my Roots, and my Truth of Existence as an Expression of the Innate Intelligence of the Universe.  I Am That.  Tat Tvam Asi.

So I welcome new perspectives on deities I have old relationships with.  I also read, relatively recently Dr. Clarissa Pinkola Estes‘s new book, Untie the Strong Woman.  It is a book of devotion, poetry, stories, art, and LOVE…all pouring out for the Mother as She has been most recently incarnated.

Mary is the Goddess that we recognize in our current society.  She is the Mother: She is deeply compassionate, strong beyond comprehension, and absolutely willing to engage with us in our lives as we communicate more and more with Her.  She offers blessings, abundance, kindness, and a safe haven in her beautiful lap.  We can rest in Her, just as in any other of the older Faces, and know that Help is Near.  She is a breath away.

As I have opened to the Holiness and ever-expanding Presence as something to Support and Nourish, rather than build walls against because of an old idea that may no longer serve me, my edges have softened.  Mary teaches me patience.  She teaches me that first impressions are not always right, and that it’s ok (and indeed, preferable) to see where I was mistaken, apologize, and move on.  She teaches me Unconditional Love.  She teaches me Faith.

A fresco of a black Madonna and Jesus in Axum ...

A fresco of a black Madonna and Jesus in Axum Cathedral, Ethiopia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It is beautiful, empowering, sweet, and humbling, to open to Her, and those aspects of mySelf that mirror Her.  I invite you in…in and in to her loving embrace, her open palms, her soft strength that endures all hardships and compassion that knows no bounds.

You can even simply acknowledge that any Face (or Light, or Presence) is HER, in Essence, as She is That, too.  Being open to the Idea of Her is enough, and letting Her make Her presence known in your life is just as beautiful as setting up an altar with a picture and a candle.  As we remind ourSelves over and over: there is no Wrong Way: there is Your Way, and you are Perfectly where you need to be.

May your way be full of Ease, Peace, and Sweetness.

R

 

Author: robindrury

Dr. Robin is a chiropractor in Leominster, Massachusetts. She practices Applied Kinesiology, and helps people who want more health and vitality than they currently are living with. Go to RTWChiropractic.co for more information!

3 thoughts on “The Goddess Pages: Mama Mary

  1. nice post about the Blessed Mother… thanks for the pingback to my blog too…. i just got Estes’ new book about the Wild Mother and yes it is powerful, as all of her work is. Blessed Be!! SB

  2. Pingback: Goddess Pages: Pele’s Transformative Fire « The Balanced Soul

Leave a Reply

